Preakness Fever!

by eqjournal

As a native Marylander, I will openly admit that I get far more excited for the Preakness Stakes than the Kentucky Derby. With the looming race being held Saturday, I can barely contain my excitement!

I will be in attendance in the Infield, much to my dismay. I was on the Infield last year because my boyfriend surprised me with tickets to see Train and Bruno Mars, who performed during the day just before horses were saddled with for the big race. We are back again this year because Maroon 5 is playing and I have a huge crush on Adam Levine. My boyfriend reasoned that this will be the only time we will be able to be in the first few rows for Maroon 5 while only paying $50. Good enough for me – but next year I will be in the Grandstand, unless Fall Out Boy makes a comeback and plays next year.

Anyway, post positions for the Preakness were drawn just a few moments ago. Here is how they will be lining up:

1 – Tiger Walk

2 – Teeth of the Dog

3 – Pretension

4 – Zetterholm

5 – Went the Day Well

6 – Creative Cause

7 – Bodemeister (current favorite)

8 – Daddy Nose Best

9 – I’ll Have Another (Derby winner)

10 – Optimizer

11 – Cozzetti

I am quite pleased Tiger Walk has the rail (he’s ALWAYS on the outside) and I think Bodemeister is going to be extremely dangerous in lucky #7. Creative Cause is a looming threat as well just to Bode’s inside. Everybody is raving about I’ll Have Another’s training, but I still remain unimpressed. I am really hoping he proves me wrong though, I would love to go into the Belmont Stakes with a live Triple Crown shot.

Steve Haskin posted a blog a few hours ago that goes over some of the entrants, plus a little Maryland TB history with Sagamore Farm.

There is also going to be an Arabian race held at Pimlico this Saturday. The same race was held at Churchill Downs last year on Stephen Foster day. I am really intrigued by the sudden interest in adding Arabian racing to a dominant Thoroughbred card. I know there is a lot of Arabian racing at Delaware Park and I think they really benefit from running two breeds at their track. I am really pleased to see Pimilico opening their doors – even if it is just for one race. Could be the start of a beautiful Arabian/Thoroughbred racing partnership. Lord knows the TB racing industry could use a monetary and popularity boost.